I have this wine in my book from more than a year ago and I’ve been trying to get it at BiBO for some time but it seems every time I order it,  I don’t get it. I know I had been impressed when I tasted it, but frustrated in terms of being able to sell it. It’s probably just been out of stock.

Happily last night at good old City Cellars I saw it sitting regally on a bottom shelf. The package is gorgeous. Dark brown bottle, dark blue label trimmed in gold with bright white letters stating simply, “Quinta da ALORNA Desde 1723”. Under that in gold lettering, “Vinho Tinto-Red Wine 2011”. Simple yet elegant. The wine was:

2011 Quinta da Alorna Vinho Tinto

Dark ruby. Smells like new shoes, popcorn, blackberry, black plum, sea air, pomegranate and red currants. Massive attack of black plum skin, juicy and tannic at once. Splashy and delicious with a sexy mouthfeel that delivers all the flavour and acidity a person needs. It was perfect with our steak frites, salad and broccoli dinner. This wine comes from Tejo in Portugal and is a blend of Tinto Roriz (Tempranillo), Castelao, Syrah and Alicante Bouschet. It’s full bodied and fun and it should be on every red wine lover’s table this month! +730669 $

Go get it!

Leave a Reply

