The Dirt On Saying Good Bye

Wow. You know when you know something is over but somehow it takes a while to end it?

That’s what I’ve been going through for the last several months at work. I know I have the BEST job. Everyone says so, but I’ve been struggling..

This is silly of course. I have the best customers. The most wonderful array of humanity has come through the door of BiBO over the last nearly ten years,and I’ve made what I hope are some life-long friends. However, with reality being what it is, the opposite is also true.

The wonderful guests are like a balm for the soul. They lend you books, notice when you’re down and bring the most thoughtful gifts. I’m tearing up just thinking of all the great people that I’m going to miss.

I’m going to miss hearing about what’s going on in the lives of my favorites. It’s like putting down a good book in the middle and never being able to find out what else happens.

What about all the great people at Culina? No more thoughtful drinks brought to my door. No more inside jokes. More people to miss.

I guess it’s like when anything ends. There are things to fling happily away from you and precious memories to hold close to the heart.

That is exactly what I’m about to do. This morning I tendered my resignation as resident sommelier at BiBO wine bar. I gave the requisite two weeks notice and expect to be behind the bar until just past midnight on August first.

So, with all that being said, I hope you’ll have the chance to drop in over the next two weeks to say farewell and share a cup of cheer.

Otherwise,if you’re inclined to look, you might be able to find me in early September on the south side of Jasper Avenue smack in the middle between 100th street and 101st street steadfastly pursuing my newest adventure.

All love,

D.

3 thoughts on “The Dirt On Saying Good Bye

  1. Oh my goodness! Congratulations on your new adventure! You’ve peaked our curiosity – we know that whatever that new venture is, it will be a good one!

    Like

  2. Congratulations, I need to get to Bibo before you go and will look forward to September. You were so there for me when I needed you 7 years ago

    Like

  3. Congratulations! Bibo will not be the same without you that is for certain. So excited for you and your new adventure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

